Winning

Yesterday, as I was driving through the mountains on my way home from Virginia (more on that later), I got some exciting news: I won the lottery! Not the one where they give you all of the money though. This is the Bank of America Chicago Marathon lottery. Apparently, so many people are jumping onto the marathon bandwagon (myself included) that they have to distribute the 45,000 entries at random. Now that I think of it, this is the exact opposite of your traditional lottery. Congratulations, you’ve won the right to run 26+ miles, and you have to pay us $185 for the pleasure of doing so! Negative jackpot.

Winning 4.18.14

I don’t think I’m properly conveying my excitement though. I mean, first of all, winning things is awesome. That kind of competitive thinking is what I love about running races in the first place. Secondly, if I hadn’t gotten the lottery entry, I would have had to run on a charity team, and while there are some very deserving causes participating, I am a fundraiser by profession and I don’t know that I need that added responsibility right now.

Not to mention that I have really been looking forward to conquering the marathon this year. Last May I ran my first half marathon. As I was running those last three miles, all I was thinking was “I will never run a marathon. I will never run a marathon”. It was my mantra. 13 miles was painful enough, and I could not imagine putting myself through it twice in a row. But somehow, after a couple of months, that pain was been trumped by the lure of conquering the big one: the 26.2 mile marathon. The truth is, I know I can do it. I enjoy challenging myself, and this is a big, once in a lifetime, bucket list kind of challenge.

So on Sunday, October 12, 2014, approximately 6 months from today, I will be in Chicago running the race of my life with two of my best friends. Here
goes nothing.

Leave a Reply

