Glory Days

I’m back at home visiting family and friends this weekend. This morning, I went for a run with one of my running idols, H. Over the last two years or so, H has transformed from normal post-college lazy human being to world-conquering running superhero. She ran her first marathon a few months ago, and she is the person I go to to ask questions/whine about running.

H lives in another part of the country, so it was great to be able to meet up with her for a run while we were both home. Right now she is recovering from her marathon and working on her running form. She had a ‘form analysis’ done by a physical therapist, and she is working on correcting some things- namely her posture and her stride. She runs with a metronome-like app- it ticks out a beat which she is supposed to match her steps to.

We did run/walk intervals, which I have never tried before. Basically we ran for a minute then walked for 30 seconds, for 6.5 miles. While it was nice to take regular breaks, I got a little hangry towards the end. Basically whenever we stopped to walk I wanted a hot dog. Actually the whole time I just wanted a hot dog.

my love for hot dogs knows no bounds

Our run took us through town, and we ran by our old high school. We decided to take a lap around the track for old times sake. H and I both ran track throughout high-school. We were sprinters- H specialized in hurdles, while I ran the 100/200/4×100 short sprints. As we were doing our lap, and watching the high-schoolers practice, we remembered the great divide between the sprinters and the “long distance” runners on our team.

ECHS

Where it all began

At the time, despite the fact that we were running 20+ sprint reps during workouts 6 days a week, we saw ourselves strictly as short distance runners. Sometimes we would do a 1-mile warmup with the whole team, and we thought that distance was SOOO LONG. If you had asked High School Me to run two miles, I would have whined like crazy. I didn’t think I was capable of running distance, and I was not interested in trying.

I kept this mindset throughout my college years and beyond. When I first started running regularly about three years ago, I was majorly intimidated by the prospect of running multiple miles. I remember being so amazed the first time I ran THREE WHOLE MILES! It was a revelation that I had that kind of distance in me, even when I was relatively out of shape.

I guess I’m kind of trying to tell you where I’ve come from, and why running a marathon is such a stretch for me. It’s something I spent most of my life believing was for super-elite long distance runners, a category which I would never have put myself in. 26.2 miles still sounds daunting to me – every time I say it I just think “THAT IS TWICE AS FAR AS I HAVE EVER RUN”.

This story has a happy ending. After our 6.5 mile run/walk, I dropped H off at the hotel she was staying at, and decided to step in to take a peek at the breakfast situation. Long story short: I ate half of the food on the buffet. I don’t mean I tried half of the things, I mean I ate half of the total quantity. There were even hotdog-like sausages. It was amazing.

Truer words have never been spoken

Truer words have never been spoken

Leave a Reply

